Skip to content
Solar Learning Lab
Rooftop solar panels in Fullerton, California

Source image: Hans, via Pixabay

California solar / Fullerton

Fullerton solar can issue right away. The bill still has two layers.

Written by the Solar Learning Lab research deskUpdated August 24, 202610 min read

Fullerton has a clean permitting hook: SolarAPP+ approval, then EasyDev issuance right away. The city even identifies the separate $25 NREL processing fee. That clarity is useful. It should not drown out the part that lasts for years, which is the bill.

Fullerton's default generation product is OCPA Smart Choice, while SCE delivers electricity. Solar analysis must keep that split visible. The permit can be fast. A weak rate model can still be expensive.

Separate the fast permit from the long bill

First map EasyDev and SolarAPP+. Then examine OCPA and SCE.

Open Fullerton’s permit route

Fullerton's fast path has a visible $25 gate

Fullerton sends qualifying designs through SolarAPP+, then says the permit is issued “right away” in the City's EasyDev portal once that approval is in hand. That is a much more concrete handoff than vague fast-track language. The City's SolarAPP+ instructions identify both platforms.

SolarAPP+ charges a $25 one-time NREL processing fee. The City says its regular solar permit fee remains separate and does not state the exact city amount in the fetched material. Do not replace an unknown City fee with $25. They are separate payments. The research does not support a second number.

Smart Choice is the default, but SCE still delivers power

Fullerton belongs to Orange County Power Authority. The City calls OCPA the default generation provider, and OCPA describes the default Smart Choice product as 60 percent renewable and 55 percent carbon-free. SCE remains the delivery utility. Fullerton's CCA page provides the local framing.

That split matters on solar bills. The CPUC net billing tariff governs the delivery-side framework; OCPA sets a generation rate on top. The supplied research found no separate OCPA solar export or net-surplus program. Do not assume a neighboring city's CCA feature exists here. OCPA FAQ.

An instant permit still needs a mature scope

EasyDev's immediate issuance is valuable when the design is ready. It is not a cure for a bad roof, an unclear panel upgrade, or a contract that has not defined battery scope. Ask when the system design becomes final and who bears the cost of a change after SolarAPP+ approval.

The CEC tracking file classifies Fullerton as a SolarAPP+ Platform jurisdiction and includes a non-certification disclaimer. The City page, not a sales claim, is the route to follow. CEC context.

Fullerton has plenty of roofs, and two different rate decisions

The state's estimate lists 25,129 single-detached homes of 50,998 total units. That is a meaningful detached-home base. It does not tell us which roofs are shaded or which households are home when panels produce. State housing estimate.

Homeowners under CC&Rs have Solar Rights Act protection, but the practical work remains: identify the association process, get the roof reviewed, then choose a system size that does not rely on unpriced exports. Civil Code Section 714.

A fast workflow does not revive 25D

The expedited portal cannot make an expired credit reappear. Section 25D does not apply to homeowner expenditures after 2025. CRS federal credit update.

The useful quote is less dramatic: separate the system cash price, finance charges, OCPA and SCE assumptions, and any claimed export value. That is enough work. It is also enough to avoid a bad decision.

Smart Choice changes the generation line, not the wires

Energy sourceTypeAverage priceWhat that means
OCPA Smart Choicedefault generation14.983¢ per kWhJoint comparison's Domestic-plan generation figure.
SCE deliveryDomestic-plan delivery25.894¢ per kWhJoint comparison component, not the whole bill.
SCE and CPUC net billingnew-solar exportshourly ACC not a flat rateOCPA has no separate export program confirmed in the supplied research.
Solar used immediatelyavoided purchased energyaccount-specific at time of useThe practical value is tied to bill components and household timing.

SCE and OCPA joint comparison and CPUC net billing tariff.

Fullerton production peaks in late summer

The fixed downtown model estimates 1,713.8 kWh per kW annually, with August highest at 168.5. That is a useful comparison point for proposals. It is not an all-day load profile, and the financial result still turns on consumption during production hours.

Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec

August is the modeled high month at 168.5 kWh per kW.

PVGIS v5.2. PVGIS v5.2 model run by Solar Learning Lab on August 24, 2026, NSRDB radiation database. Fixed south facing mount, 30 degree tilt, 14 percent losses, downtown Fullerton coordinates. Your roof will differ.

The best Fullerton bid names both portals and both bill entities

Use the directory as a research list. A serious bidder should explain SolarAPP+, EasyDev, the separate $25 processing fee, and why its bill model treats OCPA generation and SCE delivery the way it does. Ratings cannot answer those questions for you.

Unbound Solar

Fullerton, CA

4.7(570 Google reviews)

Read the graded profile

Infinity Solar

Orange, CA

4.7(137 Google reviews)

Read the graded profile

Voltaic Construction

Brea, CA

4.9(137 Google reviews)

Read the graded profile

Go Green Solar

Anaheim, CA

4.5(134 Google reviews)

Solar Sparkle

California

4.9(109 Google reviews)

Barnes Solar

Anaheim, CA

4.7(60 Google reviews)

Ratings snapshot: Google Maps, August 2026, via the DataForSEO SERP feed. Zero companies paid us and none are endorsed by us.

Use the calculator as a discipline tool, not an OCPA bill replica

Local production is in the tool. OCPA Smart Choice and SCE billing detail are not. The result can help compare size, cash and financing, but a proposal should still disclose its export and self-consumption assumptions.

$161
1,714

Our upper production case is the fixed-tilt Fullerton PVGIS model. The lower case reduces it to 85 percent to make the estimate less optimistic before a roof survey.

$2.46

Cash quotes in Fullerton cluster near $2.46 per watt, against a $3.50 national 2024 median (LBNL). Use your quote.

Assumptions you can change
2.5%
7%
15
24c

Use the rate on your actual lease or PPA quote. There is no published statewide average we trust enough to hardcode.

2%
Estimated system: 3.4 kWAnnual usage: 5,811 kWhState credit: $0

Cash purchase

$8,364 after state credit

Year 1 benefit
$161/mo
Payback
5 years
20 year net position
$38,652

Fullerton cash buyers should look beyond a fast permit. Request a production model, self-use assumption, electrical scope and every permit-related charge.

Solar loan

$112/mo 15 yr payment

Year 1 net
$50/mo
Upfront
$0
20 year net position
$26,883

For financing, the relevant comparison is cash price versus financed price, not a monthly-payment slogan. Read the dealer fee and prepayment language.

Lease / PPA

$0 down you buy the power

Year 1 net
$45/mo
Upfront
$0
20 year net position
$14,711

The business clean electricity investment credit in Section 48E belongs in a provider tax discussion, not in a homeowner savings promise. The homeowner 25D credit ended after 2025.

This screen uses California cost and retail-rate inputs, while Fullerton service has SCE delivery plus OCPA Smart Choice generation by default. It does not simulate the CCA bill components or hourly export credits. We are a solar installer and we also partner with other solar companies. See our disclosures.

Fullerton solar questions worth asking before EasyDev

Does Fullerton really issue permits right away?
The City says permits are issued right away through EasyDev once SolarAPP+ approval is obtained. City instructions.
Is the $25 the entire Fullerton permit cost?
No. It is a one-time SolarAPP+ processing fee. The City says its regular permit fee remains separate and did not state the exact amount in the supplied material. City page.
What is Fullerton's default OCPA plan?
Smart Choice, described by OCPA as 60 percent renewable and 55 percent carbon-free. OCPA FAQ.
Does OCPA pay a special solar export rate?
No separate OCPA solar export program was confirmed in the supplied research. The underlying framework is CPUC net billing. CPUC tariff.
Does the federal homeowner solar credit apply in 2026?
No. Section 25D ended after 2025 for new expenditures. CRS update.

Fullerton document trail

These pages document EasyDev, SolarAPP+, OCPA and the tariff framing used here.

permit · solarapp · cec · ocpaCity · ocpa · compare · cpuc · acc · federal · housing · rights

Request a Fullerton solar estimate that keeps the payments separate

Bring recent SCE and OCPA bill pages, roof details and an expected move horizon. The proposal should distinguish City charges from the $25 SolarAPP+ fee.

What does your monthly electric bill look like?

Fullerton average is $161 per month (EIA, 2024).